Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

This is Estate Plone Theme
You are here: Home Conferences History HRI HRI 2012 Details

HRI 2012 Details

HRI 2012 Conference Committee

HRI 2012 was held from March 5-8 in Boston, Massachusetts.

Table of Contents


General Co-Chairs

Holly Yanco, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Aaron Steinfeld, Carnegie Mellon University

Program Co-Chairs

Vanessa Evers, University of Amsterdam

Odest Chadwicke Jenkins, Brown University

Workshop and Tutorials Co-Chairs

Jill Drury, MITRE

Angelika Peer, Technischen Universität München

Late-breaking Co-Chairs

Frank Broz, University of Hertfordshire

Astrid Weiss, University Salzburg

Video Session Co-Chairs

Martin Saerbeck, Institute of High Performance Computing

Wendy Ju, Stanford University/California College of the Arts

Publications Co-Chairs

Jeonghye Han, Cheongju National University of Education

Adriana Tapus, Ecole Nationale Superieure de Techniques Avancees (ENSTA-ParisTech)

Jacob Crandall, Masdar Institute

Finance Co-Chairs

Leila Takayama, Willow Garage

Sylvain Calinon, Italian Institute of Technology

Fundraising & Exhibitions Co-Chairs

Takashi Minato, ATR Intelligent Robotics and Communication Laboratories

Jennifer Burke, Boeing

Design Chair

Adam Norton, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Web Chair

Irene Rae, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Publicity Co-Chairs

Hideaki Kuzuoka, University of Tsukuba

Aude Billard, EPFL, Switzerland

Registration Co-Chairs

Selma Sabanovic, Indiana University

Kate Tsui, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Local Co-Chairs

Candy Sidner, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Sonia Chernova, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

HRI Steering Committee


Julie A. Adams, Vanderbilt University, USA

Takayuki Kanda, ATR, Japan

Members (in alphabetical order)

Tony Belpaeme, University of Plymouth, UK

Aude Billard, EPFL, Switzerland

Sylvain Calinon, EPFL, Switzerland

Vanessa Evers, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Jodi Forlizzi, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Michael A. Goodrich, Brigham Young University, USA

Michita Imai, Keio University, Japan

Odest Chadwicke Jenkins, Brown University, USA

Matthew Johnson, IHMC, USA

Peter Kahn, University of Washington, USA

Hideaki Kazuoka, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Sara Kiesler, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Dong-Soo Kwon, KAIST, South Korea

Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA

Gerhard Sagerer, University of Bielefeld, Germany

Brian Scassellatti, Yale University, USA

Masahiro Shiomi, ATR, Japan

Aaron Steinfeld, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Leila Takayama, Willow Garage, Inc., USA

Greg Trafton, Naval Research Laboratories, USA

Holly Yanco, University of Massachusetts–Lowell, USA

Program Committee

Sara Kiesler, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Andrea Thomaz, Georgia Tech, USA

Sonia Chernova, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Leila Takayama, Willow Garage, USA

Mike Goodrich, Brigham Young University, USA

Brian Scassellatti, Yale University, USA

Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin, USA

Christoph Bartneck, Canterbury University, New Zealand

Kai Oliver Arras, Freiburg University, Germany

Michita Imai, Keio University, Japan

Yukie Nagai, Osaka University, Japan

Gerhard Sagerer, Bielefeld University, Germany

Candace Sidner, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Greg Trafton, Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Bill Smart, Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Adriana Tapus, ENSTA-ParisTech, France

Manfred Tscheligi, University of Salzburg, Austria

Peter Kahn, University of Washington, Seattle USA

Terry Fong, NASA Ames, USA

Rachid Alami, LAAS, France

Jeonghye Han, Cheongju National Univ. of Education, Korea

Paul Rybski, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Hideaki Kuzuoka, Tsukuba University, Japan

Elisabeth Croft, University of British Columbia, Canada

Kerstin Fischer, University of Hamburg, Germany

Select a region for detail.

Attendance category descriptions

Select a region for detail.

Finance category descriptions

Document Actions

Mar 24, 2017 The SIGCHI Student Travel Grant Program completes its first year

Have you ever read about a conference that you’d love to go to, but know that it’s impossible? Impossible because it’s overseas and your university doesn’t support overseas travel? Impossible because your research is in areas not covered by your advisor’s grants? Impossible because your institution has no travel funding whatsoever? Now there is hope.

Mar 24, 2017 Reviewer conduct

Recently SIGCHI has been asked to consider the conduct of reviewers for our conferences, including in the open reviewing process of alt.chi. In addition, committee members and the chairs of various tracks in our conferences often face these questions: what is appropriate behaviour and language for reviewing?



CSCW 2017

HRI 2017

IUI 2017

CHI 2017 logo

CC 2017

TVX 2017

IDC 2017

EICS 2017

MobileHCI 2017