Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

This is Estate Plone Theme
You are here: Home Conferences History CSCW CSCW 2012

CSCW 2012

CSCW 2012 was held from February 11–15 in Seattle, WA.

Table of Contents


Conference Co-chairs

Steve Poltrock

Carla Simone, University of Milano-Bicocca


Stephen Hayne, Colorado State University

Papers & Notes Co-chairs

John Riedl, University of Minnesota

Gloria Mark, University of California, Irvine

Jonathan Grudin, Microsoft Research

Panels Co-chairs

Myriam Lewkowicz, University of Technology of Troyes

Michael Twidale, University of Illinois

Videos Co-chairs

Pernille Bjorn, IT University of Copenhagen

Matthew Bietz, University of Washington

CSCW Horizon Co-chairs

Gilly Leshed, Cornell University

Monica Divitini, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Workshops Co-chairs

Darren Gergle, Northwestern University

M. Antonietta Grasso, Xerox Research Centre Europe

Posters Co-chairs

Cecilia Aragon, University of Washington

Hilda Tellioglu, Vienna University of Technology

Demonstrations Co-chairs

Danyel Fisher, Microsoft Research

Luigina Ciolfi, University of Limerick

Doctoral Colloquium Co-chairs

Leysia Palen, University of Colorado

Dave Randall, University of Siegen

Madness Co-chairs

Sadat Shami, IBM Research

Jeff Nichols, IBM Research

Publications Co-chairs

Taemie Kim, Accenture Technology Labs

Wendy Ju, California College of Arts and Stanford University

Proceedings Co-chairs

Stacey Scott, University of Waterloo

Gina Venolia, Microsoft Research

Publicity Co-chairs

Hideaki Kuzuoka, University of Tsukuba

Volker Wulf, University of Siegen and Fraunhofer FIT

Bin Hu, Lanzhou University and Birmingham City University

Joe McCarthy, University of Washington, Bothell

Industry Liaison Co-chairs

Pamela Hinds, Stanford University

John Tang, Microsoft Research

Jeremy Birnholtz, Cornell University

A/V Computing Co-chairs

Brian Meyers, Microsoft

Steve Abrams, University of California, Irvine

Webmasters and Graphic Design Co-chairs

Victoria Schwanda, Cornell University

Dan Cosley, Cornell University

Social Interaction Co-chairs

Sean Goggins, Drexel University

Elizabeth Churchill, Yahoo!

Student Volunteers Co-chairs

Norman Makoto Su, University College Dublin

Alex Thayer, University of Washington

Local Arrangements Co-chairs

Mark Handel, Boeing Research & Technology

Charlotte Lee, University of Washington

Conference Managers

John Lateulere, IMS-Solutions

Joanne Lateulere, IMS-Solutions

Associate Chairs

Mark Ackerman, University of Michigan

Daniel Avrahami, Intel Research

Jakob Bardram, IT University of Copenhagen

Jeffrey Bardzell, Indiana University

Shaowen Bardzell, Indiana University

Tora Bikson, Rand Corporation

Jeanette Blomberg, IBM Research

Geoff Bowker, University of Pittsburgh

Barry Brown, University of California, San Diego

Amy Bruckman, Georgia Institute of Technology

Sheelagh Carpendale, University of Calgary

Ed Chi, Google

Luigina Ciolfi, University of Limerick

Noshir Contractor, Northwestern University

Gregorio Convertino, PARC

Dan Cosley, Cornell University

Scott Counts, Microsoft Research

Ed Cutrell, Microsoft Research

Giorgio De Michelis, University of Milano-Bicocca

Alan Dennis, Indiana University

Nicolas Ducheneaut, PARC

Tom Finholt, University of Michigan

Danyel Fisher, Microsoft Research

Andrea Forte, Drexel University

Darren Gergle, Northwestern University

Carl Gutwin, University of Saskatchewan

Tomoo Inoue, University of Tsukuba

Steve Jackson, University of Michigan

Wendy Ju, California College of the Arts

Jofish Kaye, Nokia

John King, University of Michigan

Michael Koch, Bundeswehr University Munich

Bob Kraut, Carnegie Mellon University

Kari Kuutti, University of Oulo

Hideaki Kuzuoka, University of Tsukuba

Cliff Lampe, Michigan State University

Elizabeth Lawley, Rochester Institute of Technology

Charlotte Lee, University of Washington

Catherine C. Marshall, Microsoft Research

Joe McCarthy, University of Washington, Bothell

David McDonald, University of Washington

Hideyuki Nakanishi, Osaka University

Bonnie Nardi, University of California, Irvine

Les Nelson, PARC

Christine Neuwirth, Carnegie Mellon University

Jeff Nichols, IBM Research

Sergio Ochoa, University of Chile

Gary Olson, University of California, Irvine

Judy Olson, University of California, Irvine

Leysia Palen, University of Colorado

Volkmar Pipek, University of Kaiserslautern

Dave Randall, Manchester Metropolitan University

Madhu Reddy, The Pennsylvania State University

mc schraefel, University of Southampton

Frank Shipman, Texas A&M University

Chengzheng Sun, Nanyang Technical University

Stephanie Teasley, University of Michigan

Hilda Tellioglu, Vienna University of Technology

Loren Terveen, University of Minnesota

John Thomas, IBM Research

Michael Twidale, University of Illinois

Doug Vogel, City University of Hong Kong

Dennis Wixon, Microsoft

Volker Wulf, University of Siegen

Naomi Yamashita, NTT

Chen Zhao, Microsoft Research

Select a region for detail.

Attendance category descriptions

Select a region for detail.

Finance category descriptions

Survey Data

Survey data from conference attendees is available for PDF download.

Document Actions

Mar 24, 2017 The SIGCHI Student Travel Grant Program completes its first year

Have you ever read about a conference that you’d love to go to, but know that it’s impossible? Impossible because it’s overseas and your university doesn’t support overseas travel? Impossible because your research is in areas not covered by your advisor’s grants? Impossible because your institution has no travel funding whatsoever? Now there is hope.

Mar 24, 2017 Reviewer conduct

Recently SIGCHI has been asked to consider the conduct of reviewers for our conferences, including in the open reviewing process of alt.chi. In addition, committee members and the chairs of various tracks in our conferences often face these questions: what is appropriate behaviour and language for reviewing?



CSCW 2017

HRI 2017

IUI 2017

CHI 2017 logo

CC 2017

TVX 2017

IDC 2017

EICS 2017

MobileHCI 2017